Things Are Happening, I Should Not Be Doing This.

September 5, 2013 § Leave a comment

La Guardia ID

 

It’s been a hectic few weeks. I’ve done a lot of driving, seen a lot of babies, done a lot of driving some more, moved apartments, had my first and second and third Brooklyn taco experiences, made my first and second attempts to quit coffee, etc. Where, you ask, did I have time to take such a naked-looking faculty ID photo?

So. Here are some things I want to tell you by way of procrastinating on building this massive IKEA bookshelf.

* My little manuscript Things That Go was a finalist for the Akron Poetry Prize and Octopus Books‘ open reading period. I’m now a thing that goes “Hooray!”

* I have some excerpts from a new thing up at Corium Magazine. Thanks to Ravi Mangla, who asked for them. The magazine is really solid and I’m happy to be in the company of its many awesome folks. I especially dig James Grinwis’s piece, which begins with a potato but that’s not where it ends up.

* In job-related news, I’m adjuncting at La Guardia Community College this fall, teaching a couple sections of Writing Through Literature, which is a comp course with a literature focus. I’m going to start them off with these Dan Harmon story structure tutorials that basically regurgitate Joseph Campbell’s Hero With a Thousand Faces all over Bruce Willis’s character in Die Hard. Because story arc. And also, because Community. I’m looking forward to writing “YOU SEE WHAT I DID THERE” on the board and calling it a day.

* Reading. I’ve been doing some of that. Recently, that’s included Vow by Rebecca Hazelton and Small Porcelain Head by Allison Benis White. Both were incredible second collections by people I dig. I was late to them, but if you haven’t read them yet, you should. If you have, you should again. They’re books I know I’ll be returning to.

* Speaking of Becky Hazelton, she has a poem in the new issue of Columbia Poetry Review, which is an incredible issue boasting the likes of Heather Christle, Mathias Svalina, Liz Countryman, Traci Brimhall, and a bunch of other really good folks. It’s a poetry page-turner from start to finish. I’m lucky to have a couple poems in there, too. In one, I try to wrap my head around the area of this country known as the Plains. In the other, there are roaches.

* I just discovered we get mail addressed to “Dog Army, LLC.” More on this news as it develops.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Things Are Happening, I Should Not Be Doing This. at Hoostown: "What a [cutting-edge] piece of [art.]".

meta

