Fun Internet Things.

November 3, 2012 § Leave a comment

There’s so much exciting stuff happening on the internet today. None of it is me writing a long blog post about American Psycho, which I’ve been thinking about a lot. Instead, here are a few much pleasanter things:

* My dear friend Michelle Chan Brown has a wonderful new book, and it’s out, and you should use your dollars to get it here. If you want to know what I think of it, look out of the window on a beautiful day and heave a sigh of relief. If you want to know more about what I think of it, there’s a review forthcoming in the Birmingham Poetry Review. But really what matters is that you pick it up and read it with your own eyeballs.

* The killer one-man project Evening Man (also notable for being the above poet’s lovely husband) just released a new album, which you can pay-what-you-can for here. His first album has got to be one of the most-played records on my iTunes, and it’s only a matter of time before this one joins it there. I’ve already listened to it twice. It’s crazy good. Go get it. (And if the above picture taken out of terrible context has made you a little nostalgic for Patrick Bateman, listen to this track. Mr. Bateman & Joni Mitchell in love? Yes, please.)

* I have a poem up on the internets today, which you can read here thanks to the fine folks at Verse Daily.

* My roommate has a ridiculous Tumblr which you can visit here. Laugh til you puke. I’ll be busy trying to figure out whether it’s hipper to capitalize “Tumblr” or leave it lowercase or what. I’m a copy editor now. It’s all I have to care about.

* Remember BETTER? It’s still online and it’s still incredible. Check it out again because there’s no way you got it all the first time. I’m already so pumped for our second issue.

* Finally, we’re all fine post-Sandy. I’ve barely left the house since it happened but I hear the world’s still out there. I’m really impressed with New York in general, and with how quickly they’ve been able to pull so much back together after the unprecedented havoc wreaked on the subway tunnels. It’s really inspiring and fills me with a kind of hard-to-come-by optimism. So, like, pretty much the opposite of Patrick Bateman.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fun Internet Things. at Hoostown: "What a [cutting-edge] piece of [art.]".

meta

