In Which I Describe Some Things That Really Happened & You Doubt Me but It’s True.

April 12, 2010 § 3 Comments

On Wednesday I go outside to get some air & there’s a skull on my front porch.  Skull of a small dog or some other similarly sized animal I imagine.

For reasons that have to do with things moving away from me & also laziness I decide to leave the skull where it is & see what happens.

As I leave for the airport Thursday morning I notice the skull has moved.  It’s down a step, & upside-down.  So wind does its big old verb to objects even skulls I think.  I leave the thing to look upside-downedly at my apartment while I’m gone.

I get back on Sunday & it’s still here & it’s still upside-down.  I let myself think so much for things moving away from me.

It’s later Sunday night & the air in Houston is nothing like Denver but when I go outside to breathe it anyway the skull has disappeared.  I look around the porch & under it but it’s completely gone.

All this reminds me of the time there was a snail on my front step for days that I let stay for days because I thought it was sweet to see it make such slow progress until one day I realized its shell was cracked open & its insides entirely dried up.

So what I thought was alive & moving slowly was dead & still & what I knew to be dead & still has gotten up & trotted off or else found something to carry it.

Double-you-tee-eff, front porch.  If you weren’t prominently featured in so many of my poems I’d send you packing.

§ 3 Responses to In Which I Describe Some Things That Really Happened & You Doubt Me but It’s True.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading In Which I Describe Some Things That Really Happened & You Doubt Me but It’s True. at Hoostown: "What a [cutting-edge] piece of [art.]".

meta

