Kids Write Things.

March 26, 2010 § 5 Comments

& here’s one of them, from one of my 3rd graders whose name I’ll leave off of it for now.  He even revised it, cutting a line from the end that wasn’t as effective as its current ending.

(& if you steal it simply because it’s unattributed, I hope you feel just the grossest about yourself.  Nine-year-olds, dude.)

THE WHALE

Swimming in the

water makes

me want to

think about

all the

dangerous

animals in

it.  But sometimes

I think I’m one

of them because

how large I am

and all the teeth

I have.

Perspective!  Isn’t that a thing kids aren’t supposed to have (along with aspirin & sharp objects)?  I’m not sure I’ve ever had a thought this complicated or charmingly self-aware.

For all the complaining I’ve done about teaching 3rd graders, go get thee some little creative writers.  It’s even easier to appreciate how crazy good they are when you’re trawling through their chewed-up writing folders on the couch & not driving across the city in the morning rush-hour to teach them, or leaving completely covered in hand sanitizer.

§ 5 Responses to Kids Write Things.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Kids Write Things. at Hoostown: "What a [cutting-edge] piece of [art.]".

meta

