Shameless Self-Something.

February 20, 2010 § Leave a comment

Here is a picture of a journal.

This is the new issue of Washington Square, which features the likes of Matt Hart, Ed Hirsch, Noelle Kocott, Osip Mandelstam, Mathias Svalina, Charles Simic, G.C. Waldrep, C.K. Williams, & my dear friend Eric Kocher.  You should buy this issue so you can read Eric’s poem “A Comprehensive View of Industrial Ontogenesis,” because the first time I read it it blew my mind & taught me things.  Things about poems & things about thinking.  Eric’s poems are always doing that.

“Turn to the last page of the book

of knowing.  Now you are ready

to be a person.  A person in a box.

A box with a box around it.  Think

outside of my thinking.  You can have

a life if you want one.  I am missing

you badly.  You are like a war.”

Right?  Right.  Get it.

I have a poem in the issue which you should ignore since it’s now all a big lie.  It’s about never having heard any of my neighbors anywhere I’ve lived have sex.  Thanks to the Wentworth Street apartment, I have since heard my neighbors have sex.  It was brief, and it sounded like sex.  I don’t know what I was expecting.

So, Wentworth Street neighbors, I dedicate this, my poem, to you.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Shameless Self-Something. at Hoostown: "What a [cutting-edge] piece of [art.]".

meta

