They’re on to me!

September 22, 2008 § Leave a comment

(Pictured: The Houston Downtown Public Library.  I’d like to dedicate this lil’ picture to my mom, for whom I somehow always end up taking photos of libraries, wherever I go.)

Just a quick note to herald the fact that I taught class again for the first time in a little over a week, & all but three of my kids showed up.  We spent the first part of class freewriting about a powerful image we encountered over the course of the past week (visual rhetoric, anyone?), & then each of us read a sentence aloud from our freewrite.  We filled the room with our mixed bag of hurricane experience, tragic & awesome, & then it was over; hopefully, we can all get back on track with ease.

The second half of class was spent talking briefly about visual rhetoric & clothing.  I asked them to tell me about myself based on the way I look, & readers, I shit you not, one lovely fellow in the front said, “You look like a blogger!”

I believe the word I’m looking for is “P’wnd.”

Class was a lot of fun, despite the fact that I’ve been so keenly pigeonholed; the kids took turns volunteering to stand at the front of the class & be analyzed by their peers, & everyone kept it respectful & light.  It was a good day of transition, & I’m ready to slam them with their paper assignments on Wednesday.

But for now, my biggest concern is making sure they don’t discover my blog.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading They’re on to me! at Hoostown: "What a [cutting-edge] piece of [art.]".

meta

